Base: Hinwil, Switzerland
Team Principal: Peter Sauber
Technical Chief: James Key
Drivers: K Kobayashi
S Perez
Test Drivers: E Gutierrez
Chassis: C30
Engine: Ferrari
Tyres: Pirelli
First Season: 1993
World Championships: 0
Highest race finish: 1st (x1)
Pole Positions: 1
Fastest Laps: 2

2011 Results

GP Pts. Total
Australia 0 0
Malaysia 6 6
China 1 7
Turkey 1 8
Spain 3 11
Monaco 10 21
Canada 6 27
Europe 0 27
Great Britain * *

Team History

A strong start to the season from both Kobayashi and newcomer Perez, with regular Q3 appearances and top-ten finishes. Perez misses Monaco after qualifying crash, then sits out Canada where he is replaced by former Sauber racer Pedro de la Rosa.
Ferrari-powered C29′s pace and reliability initially disappoints. Long-term technical director Willy Rampf is replaced by James Key, ex-Force India, and performance gradually improves, with regular top-ten appearances. Pedro De la Rosa is replaced by Nick Heidfeld for the final five races.
New regulations serve to put a brake on Saubers progress as they fail to adfapt effectively. Podiums in Malaysia & Brazil are rare highlights in a tough year in which they drop back down to sixth in standings. BMW announce they will withdraw from F1 at end of season and in November they sell the team back to founder Peter Sauber.
Radical F1.08 proves highly effective, powering Robert Kubica to the team’s first win in Canada and turning them into genuine title contenders, with podiums at nine other races. The late-season developments less effective however, but they still finish third with an impressive 135 points.
From the outset they occupy the ‘best of the rest’ slot behind Ferrari and McLaren, scoring in all 17 races, including two podiums. Heidfeld proves the dominant driver, but despite a brutal accident in Canada, Kubica also records several strong finishes.
Team show a marginal improvement, finishing fifth in  thestandings in first campaign under BMW control, despite early reliability problems. They part company with Jacques Villeneuve mid season with replacement Robert Kubica scoring Italian podium, matching team mate Nick Heidfeld’s Hungarian result.
In June, Peter Sauber announces he is to step down as team principal after negotiating a takeover by BMW for 2006.
Major wind tunnel investment pays off handsomely with an impressively consistent season but  although they score points in 12 races the remain in  a lonely sixth in the constructors’ table.  They Sign former champion Jacques Villeneuve for 2005.
A difficult season, with points at only five (mostly wet) races. The best result is at Indianapolis, with Heinz-Harald Frentzen third and Nick Heidfeld fifth.  Also sees team lead a Grand Prix for first time. Both drivers are dropped for ’04 as they finish sixth in the constructors’ championship.
Eleven points is enough to give team fifth place in the constructors’ championship. The best result of the season is fourth and fifth in the Spanish Grand Prix.
The team’s best ever season with fourth place in the constructors’ championship.
Slipping backwards, the team finish eighth in the constructors’ championship with only six points. The highest finishes are two fifth places in Germany and Monaco. Both cars are withdrawn from the Brazilian Grand Prix after spectacular rear wing failures.
Another podium for Johnny Herbert who finishes third in the Hungarian Grand Prix, the team’s best result of the saeson
Johnny Herbert finishes third for the team at the Monaco Grand Prix with team mate Heinz-Harald Frentzen following in fourth. Seventh place overall in the constructors’ championship.
Heinz-Harald Frentzen gives the team their first podium with a third place at Monza.
The team manage a scoring finish in their first Grand Prix with J.J. Lehto taking fifth in South Africa and end the season sixth in the constructors’ championship with 12 points.
No Comments - Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Welcome , today is Wednesday, 26 September, 2018