Base: Woking, UK
Team Principal: Martin Whitmarsh
Technical Chief: Paddy Lowe
Drivers: L Hamilton
J Button
Test Drivers: G Paffett
Chassis: MP4-27
Engine: Mercedes-Benz FO 108Z
Tyres: Pirelli
First Season: 1966
World Championships: 8
Highest race finish: 1st (x177)
Pole Positions: 149
Fastest Laps: 149

2011 Results

GP Pts. Total
Australia 40 40
Malaysia 15 55
China 33 88
Turkey 4 92
Spain 6 98
Monaco 10 108
Canada 25 133
Europe 4 137
Great Britain * *

Team History

Good start to the season, with wins for both Lewis and Jenson. Weaknesses compared to Red Bull showing in the middle of the season, dominant only with Jenson for the very wet race in Canada. Dramatic half-lap left hounding by Jenson and mistake by Vettel force an error for Jenson to take a win. From last place with six stops!
The banning of the hot blown diffuser for Silverstone is their only hope of title contention for 2011.
An improving car which whilst not as quick as the Red Bull’s proves more reliable and shines in damp conditions. Their performance is aided by an innovative (and much copied) F-duct, which allows drivers to stall the rear wing at speed, pre-emptiing the introduction of DRS to all carsfor 2011. They lead the standings for first half of season with new arrival Jenson button proving more than a match for team mate Lewis Hamilton, but ultimately finish second overall to the dominant Red Bull’s after five race wins.
A tough start to season leaves Hamilton and Kovalainen struggling to score, let alone win. Hard work gradually turns MP4-24 into a race winner, with Hamilton victorious in Hungary and Singapore, helping team to well-earned third in the standings, one point above Ferrari.
Lewis Hamilton brings the team their first drivers’ championship since 1999, but the partnership with Heikki Kovalainen is ultimately not strong enough to wrest constructors’ crown from Ferrari and they finish second, 21 points shy of the Italian team.
Possibly the lowest point in McLaren’s history. They win eight Grands Prix, but end upstripped of their constructors’ points and fined $100 million for benefiting from possession of confidential Ferrari data. Intense rivalry sees team mates Hamilton and Alonso finish level on points – one shy of the drivers’ title.
Distant third in championship, despite strong race pace in second half of season. They end the campaign without a win for first time in a decade. Kimi Raikkonen is the dominant driver but Juan Pablo Montoya fails to live up to expectation and departs mid season for NASCAR.
The MP4-20 proves the quickest car on the grid, but poor reliability means they narrowly miss out on constructors’ title, despite 10 wins – two more than champions Renault. Kimi Raikkonen runner-up in drivers’ championship.
Worst start to a season in years with just five points from the first seven races. Stage strong recovery, including victory for Kimi Raikkonen in Belgium, to end the year fifth in the table.
Third in the constructors’ standings, just behind Williams. Kimi Raikkonen emerges as the team’s key contender for the drivers’ championship, losing out to Michael Schumacher at the final race in Japan.
Pushed down to third place in the constructors’ championship, behind Ferrari and Williams. David Coulthard takes fifth place in the drivers’ championship.
Finish second in both drivers’ and constructors’ championships two years in a row, with Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard.
Dominate after successfully adapting to rule changes. Mika Hakkinen takes the drivers’ championship in both seasons with McLaren taking the constructors’ championship in 1998.
A period of total McLaren dominance. In 1988 Ayrton Senna takes the title from his team mate Alain Prost, with honours reversed in 1989. In 1990 Senna takes back the title and retains it in 1991.
Alain Prost takes back-to-back drivers’ championships for the team.
Niki Lauda joins to partner Alain Prost. The Austrian takes the drivers’ championship by half a point from his French team mate .
James Hunt takes the drivers’ championship for the team, beating Ferrari’s Niki Lauda by one point.
Bruce McLaren is killed at the Goodwood circuit while testing a Can-Am sportscar.
Bruce McLaren wins in Belgium, giving a first Grand Prix victory to his team, who finish second in the constructors’ championship.
Bruce McLaren Motor Racing Ltd founded.
No Comments - Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Welcome , today is Tuesday, 25 September, 2018